• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Newbie - Do I really need PI/PL insurance

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie - Do I really need PI/PL insurance

Hi,

Apologies if this is a stupid question. I am a new IT contractor. I imagine I am a pretty typical infrastructure H/W, OS etc etc. I do mainly installation, configuration and support of server/networks work and typically only work 50-70% of the year. It did not occur on my first contract but my new contract mentions that I must have PL and PI insurances. I know what they are meant to protect against, but I do not understand why, when I am operating as a Ltd company, I need these. I thought one of the main thing underpinning that was that there was ltd liability.
    I am not just looking to avoid paying for it, I surely will if it is advisable/best practice, I just want to have a better understanding of my risk.

Thanks,

Originally posted by geejaybee View Post
    Hi,

Apologies if this is a stupid question. I am a new IT contractor. I imagine I am a pretty typical infrastructure H/W, OS etc etc. I do mainly installation, configuration and support of server/networks work and typically only work 50-70% of the year. It did not occur on my first contract but my new contract mentions that I must have PL and PI insurances. I know what they are meant to protect against, but I do not understand why, when I am operating as a Ltd company, I need these. I thought one of the main thing underpinning that was that there was ltd liability.