• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

private pension converting to contractor

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

private pension converting to contractor

Hi newbie question.

I've an existing private pension with LV that I pay into. LV reclaims basic rate tax on my contributions.
    Now I'm a contractor do I need to tell LV to stop reclaiming tax?

I know there are lots of great rules ( and forum threads!) around using pension contributions to reduce corp tax liability, but I want to get my existing pension straight first.

Many thanks.

Mark

Originally posted by markm View Post
    Hi newbie question.

I've an existing private pension with LV that I pay into. LV reclaims basic rate tax on my contributions.

I know there are lots of great rules ( and forum threads!) around using pension contributions to reduce corp tax liability, but I want to get my existing pension straight first.

Many thanks.

Mark
    If you're paying in personally, then they reclaim tax. If you're making company contributions, then you need to make sure they know that and don't reclaim tax on them.

Comment

With your existing LV pension, if you are going to make the payments from your company to this fund, you will need to advise them these are employer contributions.

This will provide the company with corporation tax relief on the payments.

If you continue or make addition personal contributions into the pension, again let LV know so they can reclaim the tax relief for you personally.