• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Making your warchest work for you

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Most of what I would say is posted in here...
    http://forums.contractoruk.com/accou...lush-fund.html

FWIW since I posted that I found out LondonMidland have free car parking in there stations for EVs (no charging points though) so another £1500 a year saved! As other people pointed out the cheapest method of motoring in a old banger and claim your 45p/mile. I've been doing that for 8 years and decided a new motor was in order and an EV is the most efficient for tax and running cost purposes. Went with a BMW i3 Range extender (REX) as the charging infrastructure is patchy at best so at least you have the REX as a backup to recharge the battery on the fly and can keep topping up with unleaded till you get back home. It's lovely inside, drives itself in stop start traffic uptp 25 mph, is faster than an M3 on the 0-40 and you can pre heat the interior from your smart phone so no scraping required to defrost.

I've also been to see an accountant about starting a business doing property development on land at the side of my house. Once planning permission is approved I'll be forming a new group company, and a sister "Myco construction Ltd" company. Transferring a bunch of cash from my contracting company to fund the ground works and taking on a commercial mortage for the rest [ at 8-12% and guaranteed personally by me ].