• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Backdating VAT - payment date or actual work done

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Backdating VAT - payment date or actual work done

Hello,

I am an IT contractor, working for an agency with 21 days payment delay, where payment date is the same as invoice date they are raising on my behalf.

Just registered for the VAT with a start/effective date of 10/01/2015.

I've asked my agency to back date/back pay the VAT on all of the invoices dated 10/01/2015 and after.

What they said, they will only pay VAT for timesheets after 10/01/2015 - which means I will have some invoices dated 10/01/2015 without any VAT paid on it.

Are they correct? How do I explain this to the HMRC?

Any suggestions much appreciated.

This is really why you pay for an accountant. Get him to explain the whole thing to you so you know for next time... You may actually learn something now you can avoid tripping over in the future...

You do have an accountant don't you????
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

All invoices after and including 10/1 should have VAT. Tell your agent to speak to their finance department for a lesson on how VAT works. Your time sheets are not relevant, the invoice date is.

If you are on self billing and they refuse to reissue a valid VAT invoice then tell them you will be invoicing them for the VAT separately and if it's not paid you will pursue the debt like any other.

Comment

Originally posted by northernladuk View Post