• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Biling a French company

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Biling a French company

Hello,

I would be very grateful if someone would be able to tell me how I can bill a French company for work I have done. I am a UK-based sole trader and am not VAT registered.

Thank you for your help.
    Last edited by Alannah; 20 September 2006, 17:25.

Just issue your invoice as you would for a British client. Be sure to indicate your BIC and IBAN number, so they can do a SWIFT payment to your UK bank account.

You don't have to invoice with VAT for "intellectual" work between 2 european countries, anyway.
    The payment terms should be in the contract.

Comment

Originally posted by triboix
      Just issue your invoice as you would for a British client. Be sure to indicate your BIC and IBAN number, so they can do a SWIFT payment to your UK bank account.

You don't have to invoice with VAT for "intellectual" work between 2 european countries, anyway.
      The payment terms should be in the contract.
      If the French tax inspector decides that the point of supply is in France, then he will declare you liable to pay French VAT. This has happened to me even when I was billing a UK company, for work in France.

Comment

Originally posted by expat
        If the French tax inspector decides that the point of supply is in France, then he will declare you liable to pay French VAT. This has happened to me even when I was billing a UK company, for work in France.