• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Stitch-Up by Umbrella?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Stitch-Up by Umbrella?

Hi all,

Firstly - I'm a newbie and a lurker for all of 2 hours before joining - hello all! Great site here - got everything - comedic put-downs and everything but all done without malice and in good taste - I'm in!

So, back in 2004/2005 I first started contracting using an Umbrella. I fell out with them over something (probably very stupid) I can't remember what though. So I go the Ltd company route and get an accountant, and a change of name for the COI. Long story short, the accountants request all relevant accounts documentation from said Umbrella, which they duly provided. A month later I get a call from accountants saying that after reviewing my current financial situation, I owe my business £8000. I could never understand then (and now) how I could owe that much money when the Umbrella controlled what they paid me. in my ignorance and naivety, I paid up as I could not prove otherwise. This whole episode has been niggling me for the past 8 odd years - I begrudge all the hassle/red tape that is part and parcel of running a one man PSC, so paying additional money through possible no fault of my own makes me wanna puke just thinking about it.