• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

home office allowance

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

home office allowance

So I've been contracting since September 2013, working from home often, running a server and NAS at home full time to work, but despite asking what I could claim, my accountant never told me about the home use allowance of £4/day, so I'm going to start claiming this now.
    I just want to know am I able to claim it all the way back to Sept '13 or will I have to limit it to this tax year's use of home?
    Thanks

Why didn't you ask your accountant at the time?

For the 208 quid or whatever it is I'd stick it in last year if you haven't done the paperwork, stick it in this year and then go do something more worthwhile with my time like picking up receipts outside Starbucks.

I'd spend more time looking for a new accountant than worry about this TBH.
    Last edited by northernladuk; 23 November 2015, 13:32.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Working at home
      You may be able to get tax back for some of the bills you have to pay because you have to work at home on a regular basis.

You can only claim for things to do with your work, eg business telephone calls or the extra cost of gas and electricity for your work area.

You can’t claim for things that you use for both private and business use, eg rent or broadband access.