• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Bumbling attempts to help a new contractor form a Ltd company

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bumbling attempts to help a new contractor form a Ltd company

So this morning I started ringing round my shortlist of potential accountants to move from umbrella company to my own Ltd company. I've been contracting for 9 months now so want to see if I'm outside IR35. I'm a newb I know it so was hoping for some advice and guidance. First attempt is CRUNCH and the agent is pleasant but obviously doesn't have a script at hand for for people in my position as he bumbles through trying to help me. Finally advises an IR35 review with a 3rd party, Abbey, for £249 - although discounted if I join CRUNCH. Bit chicken and egg at this point. So phone Abbey who inadvertently mention that Nixon Williams offer the review for £100 if I join them. Not on my shortlist but give them a phone too. Again if you join you can get a discounted review - chicken and egg again.

To summarise I thought these guys would be a lot slicker in advising a total newb. Are there any accountants out there that can help someone new starting out because after 3 calls it just seems so much simpler to stay under my umbrella.....

Originally posted by Bando View Post