• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Investing Company Profits/Savings

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Investing Company Profits/Savings

Apologies if I'm reposting something that has been answered many times before. It's my first post here.

I've been contracting for around 9 months now and have started to build up a nice buffer in my company account. My question is, what is the best thing to do with the profits. My bank offers savings accounts with pretty much non-existant interest rates. I would have though trying to put this money to work would be the right thing to do.

I'm not adverse to a little risk either, like investing in a fund/tracker/stocks (I do this personally already). But.....I'm not if that's possible for a LTD company, or if it is, where to start.

Any advice from others would be greatly appreciated.

This has been discussed quite a bit.

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=si...ng+ltd+company

Yes, it is possible. You can get Ltd company accounts from Selftrade, Interactive Investor, TD Direct, HL to name a few.

You will pay corporation tax on investment profits, although you do get an indexation allowance. If you build up large amounts of money in the company then you eventually face the problem of getting it out.