• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Childcare - an allowable/valid limited company expense?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Childcare - an allowable/valid limited company expense?

Background - I am new to IT Contracting and have just set-up a new limited company

Quick question - I have three children under the age of 6 years old so my childcare costs per month are high! As the sole employee/director of my small limited company can I claim some/all of this as an expense? It is 'wholly' required for my company as I could not work/earn unless I have childcare in place.

Note - my childcare provider is a registered ofsted approved childcare professional and provides me with a monthly invoice.

Advice please. Thanks in advance.

Let me google that for you

Your company can pay your childcare provider up to £243 per month as childcare vouchers. You wouldn't be subject to personal tax, this would be an allowable expense against company profits.

Anything above £243 would be a BIK and so subject to personal tax and NI (i.e. as if you had been paid the cash as a salary before giving it to your childcare provider).

Very simplistic view there, Google it and then ask your accountant. The £243 may be lower if you pay yourself into the 40% tax bracket.
    Taking a break from contracting

Comment

Let me search the forums for you

Plenty of threads on this topic so lots of good advice on the forums about this.