• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Newbie posting

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie posting

Hello all!

I'm brand new to the contracting world and, to be honest, it's been a bit of a misadventure. I fell into it actually as I was really looking for a new full time job, more as that's what I've always done than by design, and I was actually called by a consultant at a recruitment firm.

I was approached for a Business Analyst job for a financial institution by a recruiter. They had an interviewee drop out and called me asking if I'd be interested. I explained I was an IT engineer / manager but they assured me my skills would match up. I had nothing better to do that day as I was still looking for work at the time so I went along with very low expectations.

I arrived at the interview early but my interviewer was about 45 minutes late which meant I had sat there waiting for around an hour. In this time the next hopeful turned up and we got to talking. They had experience in the financial world and so I felt I was really out of place.

The interview went extremely well, despite the interviewer being quite harassed, and I went to great pains to stress my background in IT. He told me they had IT projects and I'd likely fit in fine there and I was offered the role a few days later.

After a lengthy process to be checked and get compliance paper work and e-learning passed I was in.