• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Bad Accountancy Practices - advice needed

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bad Accountancy Practices - advice needed

Hi all,

I'd appreciate your views on the conduct of my accountant please...

I've been using them for a couple of years now and they have made a catalog of errors. Not worth going into details about that. The are a small firm with about 7 or 8 employees based in Sheffield. I live in London.

I got offered a contract job in Germany. Quick call to the accountant to gain an understanding of how things will work in this scenario. Expected quick answer. The foot soldier accountant that answered the phone didn't know so he suggested I speak to one of their more qualified guys.

He also didn't know but he suggested that he can refer me onto a German accountant who can advise me how to be proceed. A couple of emails later my accountant in sheffield mentions that the work is billable at £xxx per hour and I tell him not to proceed and do any more work.

This was about a month ago.

I get a call from him this morning advising that the work he did carries a £700 bill.

From my perspective all he ever did was refer me to someone else. I wasn't aware that the work was billable and had I been aware I would have stopped it immediately.

I am going to get a new accountant. I haven't been happy with them for a long time anyway.

In your humble opinions, is this bad practice?