• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

45p per mile, VAT on VAT

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

45p per mile, VAT on VAT

As a contractor, I understand I must invoice my client for mileage at 45p per mile plus 20% VAT. This is normal practice.
    What puzzles me and which I can not find any answer or discussion on is that there is a rule which states that VAT should not be charged on VAT. Yet, the 45p per mile includes something like 17.5p of fuel inclusive of VAT, and normally an employer can recover the VAT element of this, approx 2.5p per mile. So, when I add 20% VAT to my 45p per mile, I am adding VAT on VAT for the 18p fuel element.
    Am I overcharging my client ? Should I actually be calculating VAT on 45p minus 2.5p ?

Originally posted by LindsayRuddock View Post
    As a contractor, I understand I must invoice my client for mileage at 45p per mile plus 20% VAT. This is normal practice.
    What puzzles me and which I can not find any answer or discussion on is that there is a rule which states that VAT should not be charged on VAT. Yet, the 45p per mile includes something like 17.5p of fuel inclusive of VAT, and normally an employer can recover the VAT element of this, approx 2.5p per mile. So, when I add 20% VAT to my 45p per mile, I am adding VAT on VAT for the 18p fuel element.
    Am I overcharging my client ? Should I actually be calculating VAT on 45p minus 2.5p ?
    I've never re-billed expenses, but I don't think you should be charging 45p per mile + VAT, just the 45p per mile.