• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Company/Self Assessment quandry

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Company/Self Assessment quandry

Hi,

I am in a bit of an accounting quandry brought on through burying my head in the sand. I have saved the tax money due by the limited company, so procrastination is to blame, not intention (however probably not a defence). I am a freelancer earning around 30k - so we are talking relatively small sums, if that makes an impact.

My limited company has been dissolved due to, I assume a lack of returns - as a director I have not been struck off. There were fines from companies house for late tax returns, but the company has been shut down. I also have not done any self assessment returns for the past 2 years. I am about to do these 2 late self assessment returns however am worried by doing so it may lead HMRC to open up an investigation into the dissolved company. It has been closed for around 8 months, it was my intention to bring it back but was advised not to do so by my accountant as it could bring on an investigation - I feel like they wanted me to sign up to their services as I have yet to have any other advice about these self assessment returns, and their impact.