• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Advice please - backdating pension contributions

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice please - backdating pension contributions

Hi folks. I'm a newbie to this site. I've read through some previous posts but found them difficult to compare to my own situation.

I've been operating my own limited company for exactly 2 years now. In that time I've taken a salary of c£10,600 for the second year and a dividend of c£23,000. I only took a dividend of c£22,000 in the first year with no salary.

This year 2016-17 I will be taking a salary of £8,100 and then a dividend.

The main point - I have a previous company pension scheme that has been operating for the past 7 years. I'm now transferring it to my own limited company to begin making monthly contributions. I want to backdate payments to increase my pension pot, release some money from my company and also reduce my tax bill.

I have an accountant but they cannot give pension advice. Hence the following questions to the forum:

1. What is the maximum I can pay in to my pension this year if my salary is £8,100?

2. Can I backdate pension contributions for the previous two years? If so, how much can I pay into my pension?

3. If I can backdate payments, will it have any impact on corporation tax this year or over the previous two years? Can I claim back any CT already paid?

Many MANY thanks for any advice you can give.

Hawkley

1 Company contribution = £40k.