• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Limited Company with a single client - does IR35 apply?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Limited Company with a single client - does IR35 apply?

Afternoon All

Forgive me if this has already been addressed

I am an IT contractor and have set up a limited company. I have a single client whom I work for and bill through the company. If i were to take the IR35 test would I fail? If so is there any other way round it?

I have a few friends who own their own businesses whom I regularly help out though never really made it an official. I could sign them up to my company and bill them regularly but I would still be working for my main client 5 days of the week. The other clients would just be weekends and evening, some of them are just hosting their website on rackspace cloud.

Any advice is appreciated.
    Thanks

IR35 is evaluated on a per-contract basis and therefore is not really dependent on the number of concurrent (or consecutive) contracts you've had.

If you haven't already I suggest you read the first timer guide (links on the right).

Your IR35 status, if HMRC were to enquire, would be determined by your contract and working practices.

Comment

Honestly. We've had some pretty basic questions about IR35 but this one takes the biscuit.

You've got to put a bit more effort in to it than that.

Read the Link to the right about IR35 and use google. Also I'd suggest you read all the other guides that are there as well.