• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

24 month confusion

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

24 month confusion

Can anyone please advise.

I have been a contractor with a Limited Company and outside of IR35 for just over 2 years. I have been working for an end client for about 2 years on various projects and considering accepting an extended engagement with the end client. I travel regularly to the end client office in Scotland for about 3-4 days per week. I also work at my home office for 1-2 days per week and occasionally travel to the end client office for a few days in the south east of England ever quarter.

My accountant and I seem to be confused regarding the 24 month rule.

I understand that I cannot personally claim any expenses from my company for travelling to the end client site after attending the end client site for more than 24 months. So for example, I would not be personally able to claim mileage to drive to Scotland.