• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Claiming expenses from Dividend Tax

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Claiming expenses from Dividend Tax

Hi Folks

I have been a contractor now for several Yrs. Have been messed about by the "Company I work through" for a while.
    I was originally through an umbrella. Then a sole Trader, Then Ltd company Through an agency and now a Limited Company in partnership with a colleague that I work alongside.

All these changes were forced upon us.

Anyway to the point.

We are paying ourselves Minimum wages and the rest in dividends.
    I wish to purchase items for work to make life easier to do my job. The person I work with I think is looking to retire next year (He is older than me) So he wants to spend nothing.

I will need to do a personal tax return at the end of the Year.
    If I purchase items, Obviously I cannot claim any tax back on earnings as I will not have paid any.
    I will however have quite a bit of Tax to pay on Dividends on my return.

Is this all lumped together on the return and will I be able to claim items as expenses even though the Tax has been charged on the Dividends.

Any advice appreciated

Time to stop avoiding issues

Originally posted by norush View Post
    Any advice appreciated
    Get out the Company Cheque Book and buy the items you want.
    "Don't part with your illusions; when they are gone you may still exist, but you have ceased to live" Mark Twain

Comment

Hi Folks