• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Illegal dividends or not !

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Illegal dividends or not !

I`ve a question on these Dividends and need to know more if what i am about to say will be illegal dividends or not.

I am an IT contractor and my company gets paid every month. Say my company bank account has £20,000 as its balance as of today. Is it correct for me to declare £19,000 as dividends today and transfer it today, in the hope that the Dec month payment to my company will refill the balance !

My situation is just for a month or 2 but in the long run is not expected to be disturbed, so can someone please help me with this ?

What I read is that illegal dividends "When Corporation Tax is then calculated at the year end the available profits reduce, and the dividend that was paid suddenly creates a loss. This is known as an illegal dividend, or Ultra Vires, as dividends should only be paid from profits."

http://www.companybug.com/guide-to-i...to-avoid-them/
    Last edited by Contractor UK; 28 March 2017, 11:59.

Short answer: no

Long answer: you need to knock up some accounts and check your reserves/p&l account, knock off 20% as a CT estimate. That's what's available to you as divis

Comment

Originally posted by retyfraser View Post
      I`ve a question on these Dividends and need to know more if what i am about to say will be illegal dividends or not.