• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Help - Why is Belgium so complicated!?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help - Why is Belgium so complicated!?

Hi - newbie here so don't shoot! Query is along the lines that I have a possible opportunity in Brussels, for 180 days work, that also includes travel to other countries outside of Belgium, and also includes time working in the UK. The end client in Belgium is actually a client of a UK company for which I would do the work, thus my proposed setup is (note the UK client here is happy with that);

My Ltd Co --> UK Intermediary (agent) --> UK company (travel as required for European client)

I am however consistently being pushed down a path of;

My Ltd Co --> Belgian Intermediary (agent) --> End Client in Brussels

Try as I might, I cannot get a rationale why. I've read many articles on LIMOSA, HMRC guides to residency, the automatic overseas tests and all sorts of small print I'd really rather forget - and cannot see how a 180 day engagement setup per above would put me into a situation where I would be required to pay local taxes rather than UK tax (as a UK national).

Not only is this all quite disconcerting, it's putting me off the prospect of taking the contract due to [my perceived?] ambiguity on all of this.

Any wisdom out there among you veterans would be greatly appreciated.

B34ker

After Brexit this problem will go away...

Comment

Originally posted by B34ker View Post