• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

New VAT FRS 16.5% - how to save 2%

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New VAT FRS 16.5% - how to save 2%

I am an IT contractor on 14.5% VAT FRS. I do not fall under limited cost business. So to avoid paying 2% extra tax to HMRC, what are my options except spending that 2% on stationary every quarter?

Originally posted by gaumzi View Post
    I am an IT contractor on 14.5% VAT FRS. I do not fall under limited cost business. So to avoid paying 2% extra tax to HMRC, what are my options except spending that 2% on stationary every quarter?
    Get a grip. It was never your money to begin with; you are simply collecting it on behalf of HMRC.
    The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world that he didn't exist

Comment

So to avoid paying 2% extra tax to HMRC, what are my options except spending that 2% on stationary every quarter?
      1) Leave FRS
      2) Deregister from VAT completely
      3) Close down your company and create a new one - you get 1% discount in your first year
      Best Forum Advisor 2014
      Work in the public sector? You can read my FAQ here
      Click here to get 15% off your first year's IPSE membership

Comment

Originally posted by TheFaQQer View Post
        1) Leave FRS
        2) Deregister from VAT completely
        3) Close down your company and create a new one - you get 1% discount in your first year
        The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world that he didn't exist

Comment

Do a search.