• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Charging EU VAT (and also under FRS)

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Charging EU VAT (and also under FRS)

Hi all,

Long time lurker, first time poster.

I'm a freelancer based in the UK with a UK based limited company and registered for VAT. I'm on the VAT Flat Rate Scheme. I provide technical consulting services on sustainability. Most of my work is analytics, e.g. Excel, data, coding.

I had originally planned to only sell in the UK but have been approached by a large company in the Netherlands, who are registered for VAT. I believe I'm correct in thinking that the place of supply is the Netherlands (I've satisfied myself that I don't sell anything that could be an 'electronically supplied service'*, but I don't think that this would affect matters anyway) - therefore, the first conclusion is that UK VAT charges do not apply.** These are outside the scope of UK VAT and therefore I don't include them on my flat rate turnover.*** (see sec 6.4).

I understand the logical conclusion of this to be that I issue an invoice with my & the customer's VAT number on it, set VAT as 0% and the customer has the reverse charging rules apply to them. Because VAT is 0%, I don't need to worry about paying VAT to my customer (and then recovering it from HMRC).**** (under section Services to EU business (VAT registered))

Is this right?