• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting - a cross border affair

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contracting - a cross border affair

Hi everyone,

I'm a resident of Northern Ireland wanting to start as a contractor in the Republic of Ireland. My intention is to rent an apartment in Dublin while I keep my main residence, here in Northern Ireland.

I'm completely new to contracting and I'm read up on how to get set up as a contractor, however I feel that the North / South border situation complicates things a little.

Should I set up the following in Northern Ireland or the Republic of Ireland?

- Limited company
    - Business bank account
    - Accountant

I'm assuming it's best to keep all aspects of business in one country, I just need advice on which is best for me!

Are you going direct to the end client or are you working through an agency?
    If it's through an agency, then check your contract as to where you are billing them, in what currency, etc.
    …Maybe we ain’t that young anymore

Comment

Originally posted by WTFH View Post
      Are you going direct to the end client or are you working through an agency?
      If it's through an agency, then check your contract as to where you are billing them, in what currency, etc.
      At the minute I don't have a contract, I'm still in the 'getting started' stage. Though to answer your question, I would say that I'll be dealing with an agency 90% of the time.

Comment

OK, so you're one step back.