Contracting - a cross border affair Contracting - a cross border affair
Posts 1 to 6 of 6

Nervous Newbie

Default Contracting - a cross border affair

Hi everyone,

I'm a resident of Northern Ireland wanting to start as a contractor in the Republic of Ireland. My intention is to rent an apartment in Dublin while I keep my main residence, here in Northern Ireland.

I'm completely new to contracting and I'm read up on how to get set up as a contractor, however I feel that the North / South border situation complicates things a little.

Should I set up the following in Northern Ireland or the Republic of Ireland?

- Limited company
    - Business bank account
    - Accountant

I'm assuming it's best to keep all aspects of business in one country, I just need advice on which is best for me!

Prof Cunning @ Oxford Uni

Are you going direct to the end client or are you working through an agency?
    If it's through an agency, then check your contract as to where you are billing them, in what currency, etc.
    Strong and Stable Moderation

Nervous Newbie

Quote Originally Posted by WTFH View Post
    Are you going direct to the end client or are you working through an agency?
    If it's through an agency, then check your contract as to where you are billing them, in what currency, etc.
    At the minute I don't have a contract, I'm still in the 'getting started' stage. Though to answer your question, I would say that I'll be dealing with an agency 90% of the time.

Prof Cunning @ Oxford Uni

OK, so you're one step back.

Step 1. Apply for contracts, don't be location specific
    2. Get interviews
    3. Get an offer
    4. Then start looking at accommodation, etc.

No point in renting somewhere if you're not going to be working there, or you're paying rental for several months before you get a contract.
    Strong and Stable Moderation

More fingers than teeth