• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Being fired as an IT Contractor

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Being fired as an IT Contractor

ok, probably done a million times before, but here goes.

just over 3 years service with company XYZ through consultancy ABC. While at company XYZ the quality of my work was never questioned, hence numerous renewals and generally happy client. At the same time i was also working on a side project that was unconnected with the client company or the consultancy (i'm an ice-cream salesman at the weekends, or something). there was no conflict with the work company XYZ was doing, no IP implications, and while some of the work naturally occurred during office hours this did not affect the work i was doing for company XYZ. The company got wind of this and i was taken into HR (?!?!?) and told i was being terminated immediately and was not told why. My consultancy later told me gross misconduct as i was working on a side project during office hours. No problem with any of that, but i've got a months notice that i wasn't allowed to work, and i'm not allowed to invoice for it due to aforementioned gross misconduct.

question is - as a freelance member of staff, is it a given that i will be occasionally working on projects outside company XYZ work? and that any devotion clause in the companys employee handbook will be unenforceable as is it contradicts the nature of my employment status i.e. if they want devotion clauses, then i am in disguised employment and not freelance.