• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Self Assessment

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Self Assessment

Hi all..newbie here.

Set up Ltd co in November 2017...started contracting / getting income from 2nd January 2018 onwards.

Got my head around all the company stuff, and have an accountant (Paystream) to do the tax stuff for that.

But, for my personal / company director element..i'm a bit lost.

What are the timings? Do I need to register for self assessment now..ASAP, or do I do it once the next financial year starts?) What dates should I go from?

Any help / advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Originally posted by Amsi View Post
    Hi all..newbie here.

Set up Ltd co in November 2017...started contracting / getting income from 2nd January 2018 onwards.

Got my head around all the company stuff, and have an accountant (Paystream) to do the tax stuff for that.

But, for my personal / company director element..i'm a bit lost.

What are the timings? Do I need to register for self assessment now..ASAP, or do I do it once the next financial year starts?) What dates should I go from?

Any help / advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance
    Death and Taxes no escaping either, no benefit in delaying registering and no downside to doing it now. Saves a last minute rush for a UTR and a possible fine for late payment.
    "why ride a vespa when you can push a lambretta?"

As I look ahead, I am filled with foreboding; like the Roman, I seem to see "the River Tiber foaming with much blood."