• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Expenses charging

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Expenses charging

Hi Everybody

I have a question about how to correctly invoice expenses. This is the situation:
    I'm an IT consultant with a limited company. I contract with service providers and they usually send me to end customers on site. I always agree that the expenses are covered by the company and are charged on top.
    The question is how to invoice this. I was collecting my receipts and was putting the total of all my expenses on the invoice. How shell I correctly invoice this.
    1. Shall I treat it as disbursements and just add it to the total of my invoice.
    2. Shall I put the items less VAT and then add the VAT to the total. (the VAT is added only once)
    3. Shall I put the total on the invoice as one item and then add the VAT on the total (The VAT is added twice - once when I did the purchase and then when I put it on the invoice)

My accountancy says it's the option 3 and referred me to https://www.gov.uk/guidance/vat-cost...t-calculations

It looks bit odd to me that the VAT is applied on items where VAT was already paid.

How are you doing it?

Thanks!

Originally posted by mir333 View Post
    Hi Everybody

I have a question about how to correctly invoice expenses. This is the situation: