• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Hi everyone, need a little ir35 help and explanation please!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi everyone, need a little ir35 help and explanation please!

Hi everyone, I’m not an it contractor but I’m hoping you can help me or offer an insight please.

I am wondering if all this private sector ir35 talk will affect me and my work colleagues !

Ok, so, I’m an electrician, I work for agencies most of the time, and it’s getting more and more agency based .

I am registered with the CIS scheme and have a Utr number
    I use a payroll company who deduct 20 percent tax then pay me.

Other guys in work are a ltd company and get paid that way.

I can’t speak for everyone but I would say 90 percent of us use either cis or ltd only as a means of being paid by the agency.

I am not self employed and never have been, the family tree so to speak is this
    Client Exxon Mobil new construction project
    Foster Amec wheeler main construction company
    Bilfinger electrical company
    Heads eng. agency
    Guild payment company
    Then me!

I am told the hours of work
    I can’t supply a substitute
    I wear their uniform
    They set the pay rates
    I don’t supply materials or tools, got my own small hand tools

So I guess, I’m asking, would this ir35 private sector affect me as a cis person, would it affect the guys who are ltd company?
    Or am I barking up the wrong tree altogether and this or 35 has nothing to do with us?