• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Company Pension Contributions From Retained Funds Rather Then This Years Profits

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Company Pension Contributions From Retained Funds Rather Then This Years Profits

Hi

This is my first post so please be gentle

I have been a contractor for quite a while but only started putting money in a company pension in the last 3 years (and backdated another 3 years).
    My company year ends in September and the financial year on April 5th.
    My contract expired at the end of the December so I have only billed 3 months (so far) of the company year and its uncertain whether I will get another contract this year.
    My wife is also a contractor through out company but in a different field and is still working but brings in significantly less than I.

I have a large amount of funds in the business account and I asked my accountant whether I could pay 40K into our company pensions for both myself and my wife (as we have done for the last 3 years) but he advised me that pension contributions must be paid from profits in the current company year (rather than retained funds) and as I cant be sure whether I will get another contract, he would advise against paying in any pension contributions as HMRC would frown on this as it would show the company as making a large loss.

Im 54 years of age so Im keen to maximise the amounts I put into my pension (this is not about reducing CT although that does help).

So my questions are: