• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Company digital files on my personal computer?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Company digital files on my personal computer?

Hi,

I am looking for some answers regarding confidentiality and the handling of my client's digital files.
    I found almost no information with google, so I'm trying here. Hope you can help.

I currently work as a contractor through my Limited company for a client that has requested me not to store confidential information on my computer.
    My thinking is that I am not their employee, and that I provide my services by working with my own equipment. I also think they would never prevent the consultancies my company uses from using their own equipment.
    What does the law say? Would I be in breach of the law if I was using my own equipment, including storing digital files on my limited company's computer?
    Has someone had experience with this kind of situation?
    It'd be great to get some answers, or some opinions about this.

Originally posted by reptkeu View Post
    Hi,

I am looking for some answers regarding confidentiality and the handling of my client's digital files.
    I found almost no information with google, so I'm trying here. Hope you can help.

I currently work as a contractor through my Limited company for a client that has requested me not to store confidential information on my computer.