• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting in Europe - Legal/Accounting Advice - and yes, BREXIT!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contracting in Europe - Legal/Accounting Advice - and yes, BREXIT!

Hello,

I am an IT consultant. I have a UK Limited company, and am a UK national.

I work from home (in the UK) and have clients all over Europe.

Evidently, I have to travel a lot over Europe for meetings, but as of late, with one particular client, I've been going to Belgium a lot - perhaps 2 days a week.

I do spend most of my times in the UK, and I have NO rental agreement in Belgium. I stay in hotels often whenever I go to Belgium.

Here are my questions:

a) Despite working from home in the UK, and paying income and corp tax in the UK, I still filled out a Limosa form as I figured out that I spend more than 5 days a month in Belgium. Was that right?

b) My family are in the UK and that's where I'm based. I spend LESS THAN 183 days in Belgium a year. Do I need to still pay taxes in Belgium? If so - what percentage?

c) Is working from a LTD Company the idea scenario for my line of work? Or would you recommend that I just class myself as an Auto-Entrepreneur?/Self-Employed (as opposed to a company director).

- now I know many will think that both are the same thing: if you are a company director , you are self-employed, sure.. but some self-employment statuses do not require a limited company. Is that right?