• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Agency charging 12.5% - Apprenticeship Levy

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Agency charging 12.5% - Apprenticeship Levy

Hi

I was a contractor and the Agency has charged me 12.5% Apprenticeship Levy. When I checked my remittance advice I can see my day rate, with deductions of PAYE, NIC and a further 12.5% (which I assume is Apprenticeship Levy).

Initially, the agency explained to me that because the contract is within IR35 I will need to pay more tax as I am considered PAYE and as a result they offered a rate slightly higher to compensate for the higher tax.
    Later I discovered that the Apprentice Levy is not part of the PAYE so they should not have deducted this. By not objecting I guess I agreed to have the deductions only because I was led to think it was under the PAYE scheme.

Sometime after I contacted the agency again but this time they said the charge was because of VAT, however I am not VAT registered. The total deduction for the apprenticeship levy is approx 8k.

I mentioned this to my accountant and she thinks this is not normal.

Should a contractor be paying Apprenticeship Levy and does the agency have the right to apply this charge ?
    Thanks

UPDATE: This was Agencies response in the first instance ( The contract doesn't mention Apprenticeship Levy anywhere but has a day rate of £376.25, though the remittance note has a day rate of $430):