• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Does PAYE allow for correction of accidental errors by the payroll dept?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Does PAYE allow for correction of accidental errors by the payroll dept?

Hello,

A bit of background info; I'm a contractor working through an agency, and they pay an umbrella company. I'm an employee of the umbrella.

The umbrella payroll dept made a mistake. They've put a number of weeks though in one tax week so the paycheque is smaller than it should be (personal allowance spread over 52 tax weeks + higher tax banding). I've spoken with my 'employer' and have been told once a tax week is closed there is nothing that can be done. At all. The end.

I know that HMRC will use my P60 at the end of the tax year (~8 months) and work out any overpayment, then send a cheque if money is owed but I'd rather not wait if there are other options.

The question is; does the PAYE system allow for errors to be corrected during the tax year?

I find it hard to believe in this day and age that such mistakes are final. At the moment it's me v's the payroll dept and I'm no expert.

I know there's a PAYE for employers dept that you can telephone, but nothing for employees.

Thanks.

If you have a cumulative tax code then the tax should sort itself out over the tax year.