• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

New Contractor. Pension recommendations?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New Contractor. Pension recommendations?

Hi everyone,

I was wondering if there was a pension company recommended for contractors, or that you guys personally recommend?

I'm new to contracting, and had a search of this forum but can't find exactly what I'm looking for.

Thanks!

There’s a sticky thread right at the top. Give that a read and see if it helps.

Comment

I recommend setting up a SIPP and then shoving in whatever you fancy every year. It's just a bank transfer and shows up on the costs side of the Balance Sheet, so zero tax (up to the current annual limit, which is probably £40k). You have to choose what you want to invest in. If you can't be bothered just pick Vanguard 60 or 70% equity. On his death, Warren Buffett has instructed his trustee to convert most of his wealth into an index-tracker fund with Vanguard, saying: “I believe the trust’s long-term results from this policy will be superior to those attained by most investors who employ high-fee managers.”

Vanguard are supposed to be introducing a SIPP product this year. I would hang on because they will be cheaper than the rest. If you don't want to wait, Hargreaves Lansdown are used by lots of people although they are probably more attractive if you like to pretend you're a city trader.
      "Don't part with your illusions; when they are gone you may still exist, but you have ceased to live" Mark Twain

Comment