• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Restraint of Trade Clause

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Restraint of Trade Clause

Hi

I have a query about restraint of trade clauses that I was looking for some advice on or anyone with previous experiences of them. I will be seeking some legal advice in the New Year but thought some knowledge in advance may help.

I currently work as a permie for a supplier company based in a Government department and I have a 6 month restraint of trade clause in my contract. For external resources, the client either goes through suppliers for resources in certain areas of the business or get contractors in directly in other areas.

I have decided that I want to move into contracting next spring and have already had discussions with someone about a contract role that is being recruited for directly by the client. I have spoken to the team who deal with the recruitment and they have confirmed that the clause would not stop them recruiting me but I would have to deal with any legal consequences of taking the role.