• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

New contractor - Should I start before April 2019?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New contractor - Should I start before April 2019?

Hi,

I'm a wannabe contractor. I was originally looking to start after purchasing a house as a permie in ~October 2019, but due to the IR35 changes I have been persuaded to potentially start earlier to get a year in outside of IR35, and buy a house 12 months after starting as a contractor instead.

My question is; should I start before the next tax year, so I can get a full 365 days outside of IR35?

What's this 365 days outside IR35 stuff? Who's told you this?
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by northernladuk View Post
      What's this 365 days outside IR35 stuff? Who's told you this?
      I mean IR35 being introduced in the private sector from April 2020

Comment

Originally posted by dankmemes View Post
        Er, IR35 has already been introduced in the private sector.

I know what you think you mean, but it's coming out all garbled.

Look for a contract, establish (and evidence) the status of that contract w/r to IR35, decide whether to accept it, and then pay your taxes appropriately. The same applies now, as ten years ago, as after April 2020.

Comment

I think you are completely misunderstanding IR35. Have a look on the right, there are a load of links including IR35. Have a read up on those, and use Google to look for more.