• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

New Contractor - What insurance do I need?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New Contractor - What insurance do I need?

Hi,

So I am an Instructional Designer / Elearning Designer and am wanting to become a contractor. So I am going the limited company route with just myself as Director etc.

Now I am a little confused on what insurance I am going to need to setup. Is there a broker any of you have used that I can ask some questions of? Or any companies you can suggest I look at?

From what I have seen so far I need:
    • Indemnity insurance
    • Public Liability insurance

Thanks.

Originally posted by AFKMatrix View Post
    Hi,

So I am an Instructional Designer / Elearning Designer and am wanting to become a contractor. So I am going the limited company route with just myself as Director etc.

Now I am a little confused on what insurance I am going to need to setup. Is there a broker any of you have used that I can ask some questions of? Or any companies you can suggest I look at?

• Indemnity insurance

Thanks.
    Check the QDOS contractor site. Loads of guides and info there.

Also check the newbies guide in the links to the right.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

1. Professional indemnity insurance - covers your arse if you mess up. Don't think twice.
      2. Public liability insurance - if you're going to be working on-site or around the public in any way, this will cover you. Probably worthwhile.