• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

VAT & Offshore Businesses

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

VAT & Offshore Businesses

Hi. I posted this in a specific thread on Gibraltar but frankly, it's probably wider.

So I'm totally new to running my own business and VAT and wanting to learn more about this (from an educational point of view). I've worked in SEO for a long time (as a self-employed person) but making a foray into my own business. A lot of my clients/customers are in non VAT counties outside of EU rules (Channel Islands and San Marino specifically). The services from my end are usually consultation for configuring Google products, and buying of advertising services from the likes of Twitter, Google and Facebook (usually Ireland invoicing companies).

Obviously, I'm not looking at any illegality but want to understand about the practical implications of these sorts of setups for both me and potential clients in future. Assume the status quo re: Brexit.

If I was to move to Jersey (or others like Gibraltar) and incorporate/run my new business from there, I would not charge VAT on my services - and there would be no issues for clients in these territories as no vat charges would be levied at either end? Right?

But if I then take on EU based clients (currently the UK), would my setup be a benefit or detriment to them? If I supplied from my home office in Jersey SEO services to a UK client, would I add VAT on my invoice? Assume not as I'm based in a non-VAT territory? Right? But my questions then become: