• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Hi! Confused on Contracting

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by malvolio View Post
    As an aside, in 20+ years as a contractor, I've averaged 7 months a year earning an income...
    Originally posted by northernladuk View Post
    Don't factor in 12 months. That's an absolute best case and not a reliable figure.

Contracting and perm/temping are such different animals you can't do a like for like. You have to factor in the nuances of each and time on the bench is one of those things that will happen so has to be part of the equation to get a realistic(ish) figure.
    Ok, quite possibly another thing based on my own experiences, and not aware of those of others.

For my part, I have been 12 months per year for the last 10 years. So apologies for the assumption.

Fair play.

Comment

Originally posted by simes View Post
      Ok, quite possibly another thing based on my own experiences, and not aware of those of others.

For my part, I have been 12 months per year for the last 10 years. So apologies for the assumption.

Fair play.
      More than enough threads on here that should prove to you that your situation is absolutely ideal and pretty uncommon. You've actually commented on one this week about a guy that's having to go perm because of struggles to find a gig. Go have a read of the State of the Market thread as well. No one in there (but you) has a 12 month track record.