• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Expensive Coffee Machine as Expense

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Expensive Coffee Machine as Expense

I am an IT contractor operating under my own limited company. So far I've had a handful of contracts all outside IR35 for different clients with the shortest contract lasting just under 3 months and the longest contract being 6 months.

So far I've been mostly commuting to the client's office in order to carry out the contracted work. At each client's office I had access to coffee which I made heavily use of.

Besides the contract work I also run a couple internet websites which currently make a small revenue, but my plan for this year is to shift my focus away from contracting and more to growing my own online businesses with the intention to them becoming my company's main source of income.

Because I am planning to work predominantly from home going forward I purchased an expensive bean to cup coffee machine (~£1600). At home I have a dedicated room as my office from where I work on my two internet businesses as well as the occassional contract work. I have placed the coffee machine in my home's kitchen, because it frankly doesn't make sense to place it in my office where other facilities like a fridge with milk or a sink to wash a cup are not in immediate distance. It would be simply stupid not to have it there even though this coffee machine has been bought for the company only.