• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Limited company status - post IR 35

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Limited company status - post IR 35

I work as an IT contractor through a limited company with myself and my wife as directors. My wife performs the role of a company secretary and draws a small salary.

Once private sector IR 35 rules come into force, I will almost certainly start working with an umbrella company. I would still like to keep my limited company alive - one of the reasons is that if I get a contract with a smallish business, I might me able to work outside IR 35.

My question is this: If I continue to have my limited company running, will it be okay for my wife to withdraw salary from it as a company secretary?

Yes - if it can afford it, and providing the income is commensurate with the effort spent (unless you're an MP of course...).

Of course you could always focus on doing work that places you outside IR35 and continue as normal. It's not all that hard
    Blog? What blog...?

Comment

Originally posted by malvolio View Post
      Yes - if it can afford it, and providing the income is commensurate with the effort spent (unless you're an MP of course...).
      So that's a no then because there won't 10k of work to do surely?
      'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

IR35 rules are currently in force in the private sector. Since around 1999?