• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Working remotely from the UK for German company/agency. Where do I pay tax ?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Working remotely from the UK for German company/agency. Where do I pay tax ?

Hi,

I am an engineering contractor, British citizen and based in the UK. I currently contract in the UK using my own LTD company. As per the title; I have been offered a contract working for a German company through a German agency working remotely from my home office with occasional on site work in Germany.

So the million dollar question is where do I pay tax ? Before anybody says it - I would ask my accountant but he's on holidays for 2 weeks I have tried searching for an answer but can't find anything definitive to my situation but from what I can work out is, if i do have to pay tax in Germany there will be little point bothering.

Thanks for any help
    Franky

In most cases, you pay tax where you work. You are working remotely, so you pay tax in the UK. No tax liability for Germany. I am not a international tax lawyer.
    Down with racism. Long live miscegenation!

Comment

@FrankyFingers curious if you had any updates to this? I might be in a similar boat, doing remote work, but still flying over every few weeks and most likely doing a longer stint at the start, overall around 20-25% of the work would be done in Germany, the rest remotely from the UK / elsewhere.

Comment