• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Been represent at the wrong rate / agent trying to make money

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Been represent at the wrong rate / agent trying to make money

I’m new to the forum so apologies if this thread exists, I looked but couldn’t find it.

I’ve been contracting for over 15 years so no the game well.

I’ve been offered a role, but there was confusion with rate, which has lead to me discovering the rate I agreed with the agent is not the rate I was put forward at.

It would appear that the agent represented me for much more, over 20% more, than I agreed and seems to be planning to pocket the difference, on top of their fee.

It is a small agency I’ve never heard of.

What should I do?

Walk away?

Confront the agent?

Let the company know I’ve uncovered what the agency has been up to?

Originally posted by Oldtime View Post
    I’m new to the forum so apologies if this thread exists, I looked but couldn’t find it.

I’ve been contracting for over 15 years so no the game well.

I’ve been offered a role, but there was confusion with rate, which has lead to me discovering the rate I agreed with the agent is not the rate I was put forward at.

It would appear that the agent represented me for much more, over 20% more, than I agreed and seems to be planning to pocket the difference, on top of their fee.

It is a small agency I’ve never heard of.

What should I do?

Walk away?

Confront the agent?

Let the company know I’ve uncovered what the agency has been up to?