• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

First time buyer - mortgage / ER

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello,

I have been contracting for about 5 years, I am now planning to buy my first house.
    I am using my personal savings to pay 20% deposit. however I am considering closing down my ltd company as I am going on Maternity leave soon. I am planning to take about 8-9 months maternity break and then look for another contract role via umbrella company for sometime or move to permanent role, depending on how situation is post my break.

I have spoken to my accountant and he thinks that considering I am going to take a break, closing down the company and claiming ER is better option.

I am planning on putting about 50% of the cash which I will get from LTD company to pay off my mortgage.

I have offer accepted on one property just few days back.
    ER process takes about 2 months, and I might not have cash by the time I progress on buying this property.

I am considering to make 10% over payment on the mortgage once the ER process is complete and I have got cash in my personal account from company bank account.

My question is - Option 1. Is it better to wait for the ER process to complete before buying the property and use the cash against deposit (bring down LTV to about 73%, there by getting little better interest rate during first 2 year fixed period)