• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Question about SIC code and opening a new business line

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question about SIC code and opening a new business line

Hello guys,

Right now, I am a contractor, working in London developing apps for my clients, as many other contractors here.

My SIC number is 62020 (Information technology consultancy activities), which seems right to my current activity, but according to this:
    SIC Code Support - SIC Division 2007 SIC Codes - Computer programming, consultancy and related activities
    it says “does not allow selling my own software.”

The thing is, I would like to create an app on my own, not for my clients, and upload it. For doing this, I need to pay another contractor (a designer) and I also need to pay facebook to carry out a facebook ads campaign.

So, do I have to add another SIC number to my company? Given that 62020 does not allow selling software.
    BTW, I don't really want to sell software, but a service, because people would pay a subscription when using my app. Does this mean "selling software"?

Thanks a lot for your suggestions.

Originally posted by Ricardo19ip View Post
    Hello guys,

Right now, I am a contractor, working in London developing apps for my clients, as many other contractors here.

My SIC number is 62020 (Information technology consultancy activities), which seems right to my current activity, but according to this: