• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

First contract role in the UK: confusion over employer's NI

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello,

I have been offered by an agency a Scottish public sector contract inside IR35. I am new to the UK and had never heard of inside or outside IR35, or umbrella companies, until I was offered this role. I was simply asked my day rate (based on my experience as a sole trader responsible for my own tax etc in Australia), and they accepted this amount.

I have, of course, since found out that from this day rate, as well as my own tax and insurance payments, the umbrella company I have to choose from their list of six, will take their admin fee and also I will be liable for the employer's NI. The fee makes sense to me, the NI doesn't.

I have been reading a lot on these forums and elsewhere, and while I see in some cases people are saying paying employer's NI is just part and parcel of using an umbrella company, others are referring to legislation that means the agency should be covering this.

I apologise if I am misunderstanding but, as I said, I have been hurriedly trying to play catch up since being offered and accepting this role. While it was explained to me that I would have to use an umbrella company, there was no mention I would need to pay employer's NI.

Everyone on this forum seems very clued in to the process so if anyone can offer some advice, it would be most appreciated.

Thanks in advance!