• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

VAT registration newbie questions

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

VAT registration newbie questions

This is my first year contracting (started in December 2018), via Limited company, so far no VAT needed. In the next couple of months, I will need to register for VAT as my company's taxable income is going to go over £85,000.

I work as a software developer.

Income:
    - daily rate £450, £9,000 per month, £100,000 per year

My expenses:
    - mileage: £180 / month
    - train: £550 / month

That's it. Very simple from the accounting perspective and that's the reason why I run the accounts myself. So far so good but I am trying to wrap my head around the VAT related stuff.

Assuming the situation will be as described above for another year or so, which VAT scheme would make more sense, standard or flat rate? (I get some mixed messages reading this and other forums). Would you be able to use the above numbers to show an example VAT return?

It's not your Company's taxable income that matters, but it's Turnover.

If you aren't familiar with the difference, I'd suggest engaging an Accountant?
    I was an IPSE Consultative Council Member, until the BoD abolished it. I am not an IPSE Member, since they have no longer have any relevance to me, as an IT Contractor. Read my lips...I recommend QDOS for ALL your Insurance requirements (Contact me for a referral code).

Comment

You haven't even reached a year end and you are tipping up already.