• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Client in liquidation

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Client in liquidation

I'm a freelance developer working via my own ltd company and I've just received a solicitors' letter informing me that one of my long term clients is going into creditors' voluntary liquidation. They owe my company £20,000. I am invited to submit proof of debt and to vote to approve the appointment of the liquidators and their costs and whether to seek that a liquidation committee be established.

This is a massive blow and leaves my company in a precarious, though solvent, position. I haven't spoken to my client yet and wonder if anyone here has any broad advice?

Some things I'm pondering on:

* Is there any point in objecting to the appointment or seeking to form a committee? Would I be throwing good money after bad in getting my own legal advice which I can barely afford?
    * A small proportion of what I'm owed is yet to be invoiced. Can I still add that?
    * I've already paid corporation tax on most of the owed amount.
    * I'm still incurring costs (low £100s / month) hosting sites I manage for a few of their clients. What do to about that...

Have you got ipse+ membership ?

Sent from my iPhone using Contractor UK Forum

Comment

I've gone through something similar on a personal basis, but i'd say the basic facts will remain the same