• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Ltd company setup

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ltd company setup

Hi, I'm new to the game. I am considering setting up a ltd company to handle some freelance work I've been commissioned to undertake. My wife will undertake a degree of work for the company. currently she does not work. If I setup a ltd company I would like to pay her (and take advantage of her unused personal tax threshold and lower rate tax rate). Should I make her a director of the company when I setup or keep her as a basic employee.......if the latter would the company be liable for other obligations such as pension contributions etc. We would rather keep things simple and simply pay her for her work and avoid a lot of unnecessary red tape.

Originally posted by bodford industries View Post
    Hi, I'm new to the game. I am considering setting up a ltd company to handle some freelance work I've been commissioned to undertake. My wife will undertake a degree of work for the company. currently she does not work. If I setup a ltd company I would like to pay her (and take advantage of her unused personal tax threshold and lower rate tax rate). Should I make her a director of the company when I setup or keep her as a basic employee.......if the latter would the company be liable for other obligations such as pension contributions etc. We would rather keep things simple and simply pay her for her work and avoid a lot of unnecessary red tape.