• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

MVL ER then permie, due to visa - risks?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

MVL ER then permie, due to visa - risks?

Hi all,

I have been working as a contractor in the UK since 2017, under a Tier 5 Youth Mobility visa. This visa runs for a maximum of 2 years and allows the holder (among other things) to run a Limited Company and work as a contractor.

Thus, I ran my Limited Company for 2 years, after which, just last month, I initiated liquidation via MVL with ER.

So far, not a peep from HMRC.

(Also, in the prior two years, I had drawn very little in dividends, on the advice of my advisor.)

In the last few weeks, I have decided I wanted to pursue a permanent position in the UK.

Due to my prior Tier 5 visa having expired, the rules no longer permit me to run a limited company and work as a contractor in the UK.

What concerns me is the rather wide umbrella cast by the wording of ITTOIA05/404A conditions C and D.

Condition C:
    "the individual receiving the distribution continues to carry on, or be involved with, the same trade or a trade similar to that of the wound up company at any time within two years from the date of the distribution"

It would seem that I would be doing the same kind of work in my new permanent employee role as I was when running my Limited Company, so it would appear that I satisfy Condition C.

However, I wonder to what extent I would or would not satisfy Condition D: